Cosby sole recipient of TEA distinguished administrator award

Photo submitted Barbara Gray, president of the Tennessee Education Association (TEA), presents Forge Ridge Principal Marty Cosby with the Distinguished Administrator Award during the annual presentation luncheon at the TEA Headquarters in Nashville.

For the last 34 years, the state’s brightest and most innovative educators have been recognized by the Tennessee Education Association (TEA) during its annual luncheon in Nashville.

This year, Forge Ridge principal Marty Cosby joined those handpicked few the TEA feels have made a substantial impact in promoting all things educational, garnering the only award handed out this year in the Distinguished Administrator category.

Cosby, who has devoted 34 years of total service to the Claiborne school system, has managed to thrive during his 22 years as principal of the same school campus.

The veteran principal has been the recipient of several awards during his long and successful career. He was named the East Tennessee Field Service Region Principal for 2011 and was inducted in 2010 into the Lincoln Memorial University Educators Hall of Fame.

Cosby made the grade twice, once in 2007 and again in 2009, as one of the most effective Tennessee principals by the Education Consumer Foundation.

His impressive track record is not limited to his service to Forge Ridge School. For the last several years, Cosby has taught leadership classes for Claiborne County principals and those aspiring to become principals.

As a very involved member of his community, Cosby is active in the Lincoln Memorial University Alumni Association and has served for the last three years as the chairman of the Boy Scouts of America “Claiborne County Good Scout Award Dinner.”

He also finds the time to teach Sunday school at First Baptist Church of Cumberland Gap.

The Tennessee Education Association is the state’s largest professional organization. It represents over 46,000 elementary and secondary teachers, school administrators, education support professionals, higher education faculty as well as students preparing to become teachers.

The TEA honors those educators who inspire students, parents, colleagues and the community through their talents, leadership and community service.

The awards program was originally designed to honor classroom teachers. However, it has been expanded to include administrators and other professionals across the field.

Just ten educators were honored this year. Cosby is the only award recipient from the Claiborne County Education Association.

Reach Jan Runions at 423-254-5588 or on Twitter @scribeCP.

comments powered by Disqus