Whitt Takes Home The Big Check, Holt Scores First Win at Tazewell Speedway

Jamie Whitt of Wise, VA captured one of the biggest wins of his career, June 6, as he bested the field for the first visit for the AR Bodies American Dirt All-Stars at Tazewell Speedway. Temperatures and a few tempers were hot and before the night was over a first time winner was crowned.

20 drivers from four states gathered for the AR Bodies American Dirt All-Stars Challenge for the KDRA Super Stocks which would pay $1000 to won and $100 to start. Eddie Stewart of Manchester, KY, with two Tazewell Speedway win this season, was the fastest qualifer with a lap of 13.381 seconds. Robbie Perkins of Ezel, KY was second quickest in his first ever visit to the track with a lap of 13.487 seconds.

The starting field was set by virtue of three heats race and an invert draw. Winners of the heat races were Stewart, Perkins and Jamey Adamsof Laurelville, OH. After the invert draw Brad Davis of Tazewell would earn the pole position for the twenty-five lap feature sharing the front row with Adams.

At the drop of the green, Adams jumped into the lead with Stewart, Davis, Perkins and James Crowe of Hazard, Ky jockeying for position. On lap three, Stewart used the low line to take the lead from Adams in turn two . R.J. Mayes of Rogersville brought out the first caution as he rolled his machine in turn two after contact from another car. Mayes would walk away uninjured. On the restart, James Crowe spun on his own in turn two collecting Glen Hounshell of Berea, KY and Chad Barrett also from Berea. Barrett’s car would suffer heavy front end body damage.

After the carnage was cleaned up Stewart would start to pull away from the field as Adams and Davis battled it out for second. On lap eight, Davis slipped by Adams for the lead. Just as it looked as if Stewart had the car to beat he spun coming out of turn four on lap 13. Behind him Adams also spun collecting Bartley Grant of Berea, KY. Adams’ night would be over yet Grant was able to continue with heavy right side body damage. Also during the caution period Davis would go pitside with transmission problems. With Stewart dropping to the rear of the lead lap Grant took over the lead.

With 15 laps in the books Jamie Whitt of Wise, VA, who started seventh, started pressuring Grant for the lead. On the next lap, Whitt would take the lead with Stewart moving past Grant to take over second. Two laps later Stewart blew past Whitt to reclaim the lead. Just as Stewart was eyeing his third win of the season the caution flag came out with two laps to go. During the caution, Stewart’s car ran out of fuel sending him pit side. Jamie Whitt would lead the green/white/checkered finish for one of the biggest wins of his career in the B&D Repair, Iron Horse Race Car Monte Carlo.

AR Bodies American Dirt All-Stars

1. 1 Jamie Whitt

2. R13 Johnny King

3. 38 Cody Thompson

4. C5 Daniel Carpenter

5. 43 Bartley Grant

6. 119 Eddie Stewart

7. 3 Austin Neely

8. 57 Chad Barrett

9. 88 Brad Davis

10. 42A Jamey Adams

11. 460 Robbie Perkins

12. 360 James Crowe

13. 20 Glen Hounshell

14. 310 Jeremy Howard

15. 11B Dean Boyd

16. 6M R.J. Mayes

17. 3 John Cole

18. 1 Bill Robinson

19. 01 Luke Sharp

20. 93 Derek Bottoms

Limited Late models were also on showcase as 16 drivers were on hand to vie for $1550 in a 30 lap feature. Chase King of Seymour set fast time with a lap of 12.029 seconds. King drew the one spot on the invert draw sharing the front row of the feature with Josh Collins of Powell.

King took the lead at the flash of the green trailed by Collins, Mathhew Holt of Thorn Hill, Jason Trammell of Knoxville and Steve Smith of Powell. The first caution came on lap eight as Knoxville’s Brad Hall and Mitchell Childress of Seymour spun together in turn two. On the restart, Collins shot past King for the lead with Trammell moving into second. By lap thirteen, Collins and Trammell had distanced themselves from the rest of the field.

The field would slow on lap 20 as Steve Smith suffered a flat tire. On the restart, King and Holt tangled leaving King with heavy damage and retiring from the race. Three laps later, Trammell retired from the race with problems and gave up the second spot. On the next lap, Hall who started fourteenth, would make contact with Holt on the back stretch as he was trying to pass for position. The contact would end Hall’s night with heavy frame damage. Holt was able to continue and stay in the second position.

On the restart, Collins started putting distance between himself and Holt. Bad luck would strike collins with four laps to go as he slowed on the speedway with a flat right rear tire. Holt, the 2012 Tazewell Speedway Rookie of the Year, held off the late race challenge from Michael Rutherford for his first ever victory. Holt’s Rayburn Race Car is powered by a DJ’s Performance Engine with sponsorship from Holt’s Body Shop, Discount Parts City, C Baker Flowers, Tim’s Garage, Hopson Racing & Fabrication, Cooler Daddy Heating and Air, Mitchell Holt Logging, P&P Grading, and A-1 Tint and Graphics.

Limited Late Models

1. 22 Matthew Holt

2. 18 Michael Rutherford

3. 17 Brian Shockley

4. 0 Ross White

5. 2 Mitchell Childress

6. 63 Josh Collins

7. 3 Steve Smith

8. 47 Brad Hall

9. 90 Jason Trammell

10. 44 Chase King

11. 02 Michael Hawk

12. 73 Trevor Sise

13. 25 Bobby Mays

14. 8W Paul Whitley

15. 39 Eddie King Jr.

16. 97 Keith Chapman

Current Sportsman points leader Clyde Overholt of Tazewell set quick time among 12 entries with a lap of 12.573 seconds. Overholt would lead the field into turn one yet he slid high in turn two allowing last week’s winner Anthony Burchett to slip into the lead. Kip Sawyer of Knoxville would move into second. On the next lap, Sawyer would be the one to slip high in turn two letting Overholt move back into second. Burchett would lead every lap of the feature for his second win in a row in the Hancock Home Health, Discount Parts City, Blevins and Associates Construction, Monster Energy Drink, DJ’s Performance Race Engine powered Warrior Race Car.


1. 18 Anthony Burchett

2. 4 Clyde Overholt

3. 11 Kip Sawyer

4. 144 Chris Barton

5. 50 Rick Welch

6. XXX Josh Chesney

7. 24 Andy Wilder

8. 4 Eugene Lawson

9. 99 Jeff Day

10. 119 Josh Evans

11. 20S James Weaver

12. 10 Brian Russell

Chuck McMahan led every lap of the 4 Cylinder feature for his second win of the season in The Original Mr. Freezo, Lowes Auto Parts Ford Mustang.

4 Cylinders

1. 99 Chuck McMahan

2. 11 Tyler Haynes

3. 7 Bubby Braden

4. 72 Rufus Collett

Philip Thompson of Knoxville continued his dominance of the Classic car division battling early in the feature with Maynardville’s Josh Chesney and taking the lead on the third lap. Thompson held off Chesney for his seventh win in a row in the Skyline Transportation, Filmax Filtration, Crockett Creek Beef Jerky, Hooker Harness sponsored Radioactive Classic Car with power from an Eagle Race Engine. The win was dedicated to Thompson’s grandmother who passed away earlier in the week.

Classic Cars

1. 24 Philip Thompson

2. XXX Josh Chesney

3. 5 Robbie Sands

4. 7 John Stevens

5. 2 Randy Davis

6. 1 Daisy Lockhart

Join us this Saturday night June 13th for another full racing program featuring our Tazewell Late Models, Sportsman, KDRA Super Stocks, Classic Cars and 4 Cylinders. We’ll also celebrate Father’s Day with prizes and giveaways.

comments powered by Disqus