Day 1: Softball All Stars defeated

Jayla Bolstridge watches the pitch cross the plate from first base.

Photos by Allen Earl | Claiborne Progress The New Tazewell 7-8 year-old All Stars.

Katelyn Combs makes the tag at third base.

London Noe blasts up the first base line.

The New Tazewell Little League hosted District 6 All Stars softball tournament action June 27 at Claiborne High School’s Lady Bulldogs field.

The first game featured the coach pitch 7-8 age group. The New Tazewell All Stars battled the All Stars from Bean Station. Bean Station took little time putting pressure on the home team by placing up two runs during the opening half inning. New Tazewell answered with a run of their own in the bottom of the first.

The two teams failed to score during the second and third innings but during the fourth inning Bean Station scored five runs increasing their total to seven runs while New Tazewell only responded with two runs making the score board read 7-3 after four innings.

The New Tazewell All Stars rallied back during the fifth inning and narrowed the Bean Station lead to only one run at 7-6.

During the top of the sixth inning, Bean Station exploded for three more runs to extend their lead to 10-6 but during New Tazewell’s last bat they rallied and scored two more but lost in the end by the final score of 10-8. The New Tazewell girls dropped into Sunday’s loser bracket set of games.

The New Tazewell team members include Jayla Bolstridge, Katelyn Combs, Kylie Cupp, Avery Ferguson, Jayce Ferguson, Emma Hoskins, Erica Keck, Alexandrea Mullins, Kolie Murdock, London Noe and Chloe Smith.

Maryville defeated Grainger 14-4 in other action.

Reach Allen Earl at 423-254-5588 or on Twitter @pitchadude.

comments powered by Disqus